The Blacksmith’s Daughter (Skyrim Fan Fiction) – Part 3, Episode 4 – ‘Rest and Respite’

Image result for skyrim forge

Journal of Anya Fire-Heart – Turdas, 28th of Last Seed, 4th Era, Year 201

‘Rest and Respite’

I awoke this morning with the objective of doing some smithing and making a decision of what to do next.  The smithing took most of the morning but I think I have unlocked a few secrets and I even sat down and drawn out an armor design that is similar to the Wolf Armor but made out of carved steel and resembles a bear.  It would be very symbolic of the Stormcloak cause.  The problem as I see it I would need to use Quicksilver and Ebony Steel to make it which are not easy to find.

I eventually found myself back home and I spent the rest of the day reading some books and considering my options.

I have long-delayed my joining of the Stormcloaks.  Mostly this has been due to the dragons but I also have been working with the idea I might be able to get the Companions to side with the Stormcloaks.  To do this I need to gain more influence.  However, the Circle changing their mind on this does not look to promising.  Vilkas and Farkas don’t care about the war.  Kodlak maintains a fierce neutrality.  Before he died Skjor was also against entering what he termed – ‘the squabbling of jarls’.  Only Aela seems open to the idea of being a part of the war, and her motivations are purely ones of gaining glory.  I have essentially taken Skjor’s place on The Circle but that still leaves the odds against me. This might be a dead-end unless something else happens.  The war with the Silver Hand is far from over.

I have several threats to my person I could handle as well but they involve a major amount of time commitment.  One of these threats is based in Solstheim which would involve arranging passage and a long expedition.  The other threat is from the Dark Brotherhood.  I am not sure how to eliminate that threat and the greater question is who preformed the Black Sacrament and dropped my name.  Top that all off with what the Thalmor might do to me if they discovered that it was I who destroyed Northwatch Keep and you could say I have made my share of enemies. Powerful ones at that.

Image result for vanilla Breezehome bookshelf

The Greybeards want me to recover the Horn Of Jurgen Windcaller as a final test.  The dragon problem remains as to why they are returning and how? As Dragonborn, I feel responsible for this.  I can’t help feeling that this is why I am here and that the Greybeards are the key to moving forward.

There are also the various sundry options: 1) Going to the College of Winterhold, 2) Going to the Bard’s College, 3) Joining the Dawnguard, 4) Taking Meridia’s beacon to Mt. Kilkreath, etc.  All of these have their appeal but I don’t have the same sense of urgency with them as some of the others.  Some I have dismissed because they are deep in enemy territory.  There is also that offer from the Jarl of Falkreath to aid him for reward of a parcel of land.

Perhaps I need something else?  I could always go down to the Bannered Mare in the morning and talk to Hulda. I just can seem to prioritize all this. I guess I will sleep on it and then see Hulda.  She might have a rumor or two to follow up on.

Next: A Blade in the Dark

Leave a Reply

