Commentary: Creating the Fantasy World (Part One)

Image result for creating your own fantasy world

I often find this the most painfully slow thing to do.  I want to get right into the story but I have found that creating the world and then slowly bringing my readers into it saves a tremendous amount of time later during the story.  Instead of having to stop the story and then have to explain something essential, they may already know so I just keep going.  That said I also worry that I might be losing my reader with boring background stuff.  What I have tried to do is put story elements in it, so weaving the historical stories of the world while giving descriptions of the world works best for me.

Thus, this blog so far has for the most part been a history lesson of my world along with some descriptions of where my main character will spend most of his time.  Other things I want to show my audience later so the stories are not super detailed or complete, but the reader is given enough to chew on as I go on weaving story with description.

If I look at some of the writing masters probably I would note Isaac Asimov as he pretty much just starts telling story and the reader pretty much makes up the background. This is why whenever you talk to an Asimov fan and discuss his worlds you get a multitude of different opinions.  This varies greatly with Robert Jordan and in particular the Wheel of Time.  His descriptions of his world border on overkill.  I had a hard time with some of the books as some of them were long descriptions of what and where but as far as story very little changed.  If he hadn’t overdid this so much, he might have been able to finish the Wheel of Time himself before his death.  For me, I want to describe the stage enough so that when I tell the story it makes sense and the main things are there but the rest is left to the readers imagination.

There are of course some pragmatic issues.  In this case, I am moving some characters from an old story line from an old blog, but I need to change things so it is truly a new story.  Part of this is the fact that unlike the setting of my old story which was vague, I am actually being much more specific and giving things names as well.  In the old Theology Pub, readers never knew the name of the country The Bartender lived in, the town he lived in or even too many details about the town itself until they were revealed.  This allowed me to focus on the story and when I wanted to change things I could, or just plain make things up for a scene I could.

This time around the island has a name and a geography including and actual place in the world we all live in.  The city the Bartender lives in has a name and description as well.  The pub itself will have specific dimensions that cannot be broken once they are set.  I think this will force me to write better stories where I have to live with limitations and find solutions to plots issues and problems the characters are having without the default of just making crap up.  This should make things in some senses harder for me but that will also press me to write better.

That’s all for now.

Blessings and Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

